Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > BBV4Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 02-24-2007, 04:21 PM

Default BEAT: I suck at making friends (tl;dr) (x-posted in The Dorm)

I'm a sophomore (undergrad) who just transferred to NYU from BU this semester, and I've found it basically impossible to meet new people. All of my classes are big lectures, so it's pretty hard to meet people in there. Also, coming in as a transfer Spring semester is even tougher than coming in as a transfer in the fall, b/c nobody is just starting out, it's not the same as the beginning of the year, etc. It's also just hard to make friends as a transfer in general, i.e. what am I supposed to say, "hey, i just met you, wanna chill? i don't know anybody here!!" I have a few friends from back home who go to school in NYC, but I think it's pretty stupid/unrealistic to assume that all of my college friends will be friends from my high school. NYU organizes some transfer student events, but it's all stupid stuff I don't want to go to like Broadway musicals, tapings of Good Morning America, etc.

I've tried joining facebook poker groups and stuff, but all of them seem lame (e.g. $5 buy in donkaments, ZOMG!!). Plus, I'm more of an artsy kid, so I'd probably make better friends with kids who are into film/music rather than just random poker players.