Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > Tournament Circuit/WSOP

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-16-2007, 10:02 AM
JohnnyGroomsTD JohnnyGroomsTD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 141
Default Re: Ruling Question: Oversize Chip Thrown On Top of Blind

It's a call at Beau Rivage, and at any poker tournament I am associated with. The rule was intended to prvent an ambiguous action. If there is any doubt about a players intended action in that spot, it is ruled a call. the rule reads " when a player places an oversized chip in the pot without announcing the intention to raise, it will be considered a call" verbage may not be exact, but the fact that the player is actually placing ONE chip into the pot at the time covers this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-16-2007, 10:10 AM
PBFan PBFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 140
Default Re: Ruling Question: Oversize Chip Thrown On Top of Blind

[ QUOTE ]
its a call...and the dealer should announce it as a call right away, and not ask if it is a call or a raise. Oversized Chip Rule.

[/ QUOTE ]
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-17-2007, 12:06 AM
La Brujita La Brujita is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,840
Default Re: Ruling Question: Oversize Chip Thrown On Top of Blind

it was a call in the foxwoods 10k last week
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-17-2007, 03:05 PM
Deuce2High Deuce2High is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pwnasaurus
Posts: 1,288
Default Re: Ruling Question: Oversize Chip Thrown On Top of Blind

This just happened to me, as well.

At 100-200 I threw in a 500 chip in the small blind intending on raising.

I was under the impression that the oversized chip rule only mattered in those situations when you don't have smaller chips to make change. Guess not.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-21-2007, 06:19 AM
moorbr02 moorbr02 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Ruling Question: Oversize Chip Thrown On Top of Blind

it's simple no matter what if you put an oversized chip in the pot it's a call. even if you're playing 1/2 no limit and you have 100 $1 chips in front of you and you place a $500 dollar chip in the pot without saying anything, you called a $2 bet. it's that simple. (oversized chip = call). how is this open for so much debate and questions? if you want to raise, just say raise. not that difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-21-2007, 07:45 AM
MaverickUSC MaverickUSC is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 516
Default Re: Ruling Question: Oversize Chip Thrown On Top of Blind

but from the big blind it's still a raise, right? 1-2, limped, option, throw out a purple, poof! 700 total.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:50 PM
moorbr02 moorbr02 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Ruling Question: Oversize Chip Thrown On Top of Blind

500 total, but only from the option. that's a raise because they pulled back the 2. but call for everyone else
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.