Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > BBV4Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-16-2007, 09:42 AM

Default Gracie JuJitsu dojo trip report

I always noticed this GJJ dojo near near me as i drove by, so i decided to finally check it out. I called in, and asked for pricing information, and they refused to give me a price, they gave me a range, 25-200, that didn't help at all. They offered me a free trial class, and they said to come in the next day and that my uniform was ready. Very exciting i thought.

about me:
my background is 2 years varsity wrestling back in middle school whichi was probably 7-8 years ago (im 22 now), so i dont remember that much. I am interested in GJJ cuz i like UFC, and i wanted to get into a sport and have confidence that i could defend myself in any situation. I am also into bodybuilding and general fitness.

Next day after work i came in, 1st thing i see is this..

a big mat with a 50+ people taking instruction from Pedro Valente. I also noticed 2 50"+ LCDs mounted above the mat on each side, showing the technique in slow motion. Nize i thought. I went up to the waiting area, and told the person working there that im here for my trial class, they gave me my uniform and told me where to go to change etc.. It was challenging to figure out how to tie the pants and the belt since i never did anything like this, but i kind of got it, although i thought my belt hung too low. The uniform they gave me was the same as everyone else's kimono, but without the Gracie patch.

First class: