Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-04-2007, 05:24 AM

Default 1/2 PLO at the palms: easy play with AA?

I'm pretty new to PLO, have a general idea of the game but by no means solid at it....that said: drunken/friendly 2p2 game at the Palms, villain is 2p2 and taking a lot of flops. Is this standard? I have about 300+ and villain covers.

A couple of limps to villain on the button and he raises pot to 30. I repot out of the sb with AA66. folds around to raiser who calls. Flop is 983 with a flush draw. If I pot I dont have much more behind...easy pot/all in? should i ever flat call pf? ever not pot the flop?
Old 07-04-2007, 05:55 AM

Default Re: 1/2 PLO at the palms: easy play with AA?

You can flat-call pre flop if you like.

I think it is standard play re-raise with non-dry aces if you get at least 35-40 % of your stack in pre-flop.

When you have re-raised aces and do not have lot of money left you must shove flop.
Old 07-04-2007, 10:34 AM

Great hand to shove out of position as you have a lot of blockers to anyone with a straight draw. You only fear 99 or 88 here which I would estimate is held around 10% of the time.
You can't consider folding here, so shoving is the only option.
Old 07-04-2007, 11:52 AM

If you haven't been raising alot, I really don't like raising preflop in this spot. You really define your hand as AAxx tbh.

So now post flop you really have to bet out here I think because you have the flush draw and since he raised preflop I'm not too worried about an 88/99 in hand. Maybe a 6789 or JT9Q would be hands he could have, but your hand is good enough to go with vs his calling range here on the flop.

I just don't see him calling too many flops because he knows what you have basically (aside from the NFD).
Old 07-04-2007, 12:11 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I'm not too worried about an 88/99 in hand. Maybe a 6789 or JT9Q

[/ QUOTE ]