Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-16-2007, 05:27 PM

Default Getting Killed in Vegas 2/4 Games and Can\'t Find a Way Out

Hi there,

I just moved to Vegas for other reasons and I started playing again. Before I would simply keep my playing to trips out here as a tourist and always did okay at this limit.

However, now I'm here I am finding myself constantly losing to stupid draws that always seem to get there. I have been playing for quite a while and I *think* I have a sound game theory pre-flop. I mostly stick to:

AKo
AKs
AA
KK
QQ
AQs
JJ
TT
AQo

if I'm early or middle, and add maybe AJ, ATs KQ, JTs and Axs if I'm in late, cutoff and button. I'm not afraid to raise and do a fair amount, but I always seem to get called down with some garbage hand like T6o and they river 2p on me.

I have tried playing super tight (didn't work), aggresive (didn't work - lost quicker. I don't understand how someone can call 4 bets pre-flop with K7o but there you go) and I know I should be happy that they do it, but is this just variance or something else?

How do you deal with these very loose, very passive games?
Old 10-16-2007, 05:41 PM

Default Re: Getting Killed in Vegas 2/4 Games and Can\'t Find a Way Out

My first two questions:

1. What is your sample size?
2. How big is the rake?

I've come to the conclusion (on my own) that 2/4 with a standard rake is almost impossible to beat.
Old 10-16-2007, 05:42 PM

Sample size? Probably 100+ hours at Red Rock and Monte Carlo at 2/4 since July 2007.

Rake is 10% $4 max.
Old 10-16-2007, 05:46 PM

As a quickie follow-up, I had a long chat with a very nice lady at Monte Carlo who I've played with as a tourist for years and years, and told her basically what's going on and she recommended I move to 2/1 NL rather than limit.