Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-05-2007, 03:59 PM

Default 3-betting all PPs

I am somewhat new to playing limit poker. I usually play NLHE but have begun to play short-handed 3/6 LHE just recently. I am not too keen on the poker library but have heard several strategies on playing PPs from buddies. I have learned that if not in the blinds to 3-bet all PPs (upon discretion). Is this a viable strategy or is just calling a raise with the middle and lower PPs better?
Old 02-05-2007, 04:30 PM

Default Re: 3-betting all PPs

no. folding, raising and cold calling are all options depending on the situation. Post some hands. Yes, you can fold a PP for a raise. *Gasp*
Old 02-05-2007, 05:03 PM

As a general rule, I will 3bet a pocket pair if...

-It's TT or higher vs. a player with normal raising standards.
-The initial raise came from a player with extremely wide raising standards.
-The initial raise came from a position-aware or loose raiser in MP2 or later.
-I'm in the big blind & the raise came from a steal position and I think 3betting preflop will gain me folding equity on the flop.

I will coldcall if:
-It's a small/medium pocket pair and several other players are involved in the pot (either coldcalling the raise or limping before the raise).
-I'm in late position/small blind and at least one other player is involved in the pot (coldcalling or limping before the raise).
-I'm in the big blind and the raiser isn't very good.

I will fold if:

-None of the above conditions apply.

All of this of course assumes that I'm likely to isolate on the raiser if I 3bet, or at least get any players who haven't acted yet (i.e., didn't limp ahead of the raise) to fold. In online small stakes games that's fairly typical, but live is another story...you're often better off just coldcalling in a loose live game & hoping for a good flop.