Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-20-2007, 04:58 AM

Default ofishstix\'s Pooh-Bah Post

It has been a little over four years since I started playing poker and about three years since I’ve done so online. In this time, I’ve learned and forgotten a bunch of ideas and concepts. Some things my friends and I learned/reasoned out were right, others were terrible wrong. In terms of advice, though, there is one piece that is so important I’ll never forget it…

I got to durrrr’s house around midnight when he was playing some 200/400 PLO. He was already up 600k on the day and was about to cal it a night. After he finished up his sesh, we went out to take care of some things. In the car he was telling me how soft the heads up games on Prima were. “They’re all sports betters who like gambling. Sit at 5/10, find a fish, and they never stop reloading. I’ll take half your action.” I three tabled 3/6 6 max, 5/10 full ring, and 5/10 HU. He was helping me out with the HU match as I had never played HU NL outside of SNGs.

This is when I learned that limping the button is fine. If you’re going to get called anyway, why would you want to bloat the pot with marginal hands like 45s? Limp and outplay your opponent postflop. Good advice, but not exactly epiphany-type stuff.

Though I don’t remember the exact hand, I remember the lesson it prompted. I hadn’t 3bet preflop in a while so I decided to do it with something marginal like J9o. durrrr asked me why I did that and I told him that I hadn’t 3bet in a while so I thought it would be a good time. He told me:

Always have a good reason for everything you do