Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-17-2007, 10:06 PM

Default Investing in Small/Micro Cap Stocks

So I've been lurking through this forum for a while, and have been pretty impressed with several different posters' analyses of whatever financial topics.

As an investor, I've mostly strayed away from small/micro cap stocks for many reasons, including:

1. UN-necessity
2. Risk
3. Poor understanding of what to look for

I am by no means a financial expert, but I like to think that I have some idea what I'm talking about when it comes to stocks. I was wondering what you guys look for when you research a smaller cap stock or a penny stock - I feel like essentially I am looking for a 1-to-1 downside (loss of principal) versus a very high ratio upside.

For example, I read a post about IMMR which I guess Sklansky presented on this forum. I haven't read the post in which he explained why to BUY IMMR, but I see that it has done very well. What, Sklansky, did you look for?

Thanks guys,

C
Old 07-17-2007, 11:30 PM

Default Re: Investing in Small/Micro Cap Stocks

I would personally just invest in small/micro cap funds unless I really knew what I was doing. There are some good ones out there; the Vanguard ones are adequate but not really as small as a lot of people might like.
Old 07-17-2007, 11:42 PM

So I feel like Bio/Biotech/Biochem/Lab stocks are the way to go in small-cap investing. You say you want to be comfortable knowing what you're getting into - obviously a fine (and correct) sentiment.

But otherwise, are there websites or other forums you guys go to for stock research/tips, maybe specifically for tech/science research?
Old 07-18-2007, 01:02 AM

You are more likely to find mispriced securites that have market caps of less than $500M. PZI is an ETF that tracks a micro-cap value index that has done 14% for 5 years.