Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-28-2006, 07:23 PM

Default Napa Valley

Anyone in the Bay Area/Northern California know how to properly "do" Napa Valley (winery tour)? Any tidbits you might have would be most appreciated.
Old 09-28-2006, 07:35 PM

Default Re: Napa Valley

I always prefer V. Sattui. It's a bit of an anomaly. most wineries would consider 2 dozen ppl at a time a lot, this place does 200+ most weekend, but moves people well. The tastings are fee (which is sadly not so common in Napa) and the stuff is good. They also have a great italian deli (cheese tastings ftw!) and picnic grounds. Toss in the occaisional bbq outside and everyone wins.

Other than that, drive up and down that main road and pull into whatever looks good. Enjoy.

(I'm no expert, just moved into the area a year ago and have taken guests up there about 4 times by now).
Old 09-28-2006, 07:39 PM

tidbit: Keep up with the car in front of you on those highways or someone like me is going to run you down.

Other then that, just go be a tourist and have fun. Drive around, see a bunch of the area, not just the wine (drive around first, drink wine second, see 'tidbit')
Old 09-28-2006, 07:49 PM

My suggestion: forget Napa and do Sonoma instead. I've been to each of them about a half dozen times, and even though there are some great wineries in Napa, my opinion is that the area has just become too commercial -- every winery seems to have a gift shop that sells a hundred little wine knick knacks and assorted crap.