Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-10-2006, 12:18 AM

Default Programmers

I'm headed back to school in the fall after a year or two off and planning to major in Computer Science this time around. The intro class reportedly teaches Java which I have no experience with. Actually the only experience I've had with code is some messing around with VB6 when I was a kid. I liked it and think I got somewhat good at it for a 7th grader but I have no basis for comparison. My ambition is to eventually get into video game design.

So my question is what's a good way to learn some basics this summer so I'll be ahead of the game when school starts? Should I just begin work on Java or get started with some other language since I'll be learning Java anyway in class ? Suggestions as well as any specific books or other resources that might help out much appreciated.
Old 06-10-2006, 01:09 AM

Default Re: Programmers

imo, it's easier to learn C (which features more complicated things like pointers) and then learn Java than the other way around. Java has a lot of things which it kinda does "magically" to make things easier for the programmer; it's easier to learn memory management from the C perspective, where you're dealing directly with memory, than it is to learn Java's cookie cutter reference stuff and then have someone tell you "ok, remember everything you learned about references in Java? Forget about it" when you have to learn C.
Old 06-10-2006, 01:13 AM

[ QUOTE ]