Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-22-2007, 10:05 PM

Default New poster and does my strategy make any sense

Hello everyone!

I'm relatively new to the game, I've been watching poker on TV for few years and I want to start playing the game myself. Let's cut down to the chase, I'm in it for the money but I also find the game very entertaining. But becoming a winning player is my goal.

I'm a former programmer, currently doing my PhD studies and I do some consulting every now and then, but I do have free time as well. Instead of just watching poker I figure I might just as well play it. So I guess it's fair to say I'm not afraid of learning the math. In fact I think I'll be an online player mostly because I don't think I have the talent of reading people as far as detecting tells goes. Not that I wouldn't want to play live, but let's just say I'm a humble beginner. Aside from decent math skills, I'm a very structured thinker, so a strong strategy based on that will suit me the best. I'm also very boring and patient by nature, so I think my personality is suited pretty well for online poker as well. I'm not a big risk taker though, I don't have much gambling in me, so I have some weaknesses from the get go.

So my "to do"-list so far includes reading Sklansky's Theory of Poker and digesting as much as possible. Then, I'll hit the tables to have some real learning experiences and read more as I go and study the game continuously. I have $600 bankroll, so I think I should stick with the limit games, .1/.2. Does this sound right? Some people might recommend .25/.50 with my bankroll but I'm willing to learn and get those 20k or so hands so I can then analyze my game for the first time and adjust. I'm also thinking of playing only Limit Texas Hold'em ring games for starters.