Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > STT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-02-2006, 01:11 AM

Default OT: Hand Ranges Assistance

Hey everyone. I just have a quick question for you guys... I'm currently learning NL, and getting into SNG's. I have read the FAQ and have found some excellent information about them. I'm just curious about how to approach putting opponents on a hand range, as reccomended by pretty much everyone. I have a hard time not focusing on thinking about a specific possible hand that the opponent may have, so any insight would be greatly appreciated. I am studying HOH 1 and 2, as well as taking my time working and learning through the $5.50's. Thanks for any advice, and I apologize if this is a question that bothers folks. If so, let me know, and I'll move along =)
Old 02-02-2006, 02:02 AM

Default Re: OT: Hand Ranges Assistance

No advice?
Old 02-02-2006, 02:07 AM

It's a pretty vague question, and you sometimes have to wait more than 45 minutes, but here's what I've got.

In general, probably the easiest thing to do is to try and assess the strength of your opponent; that is, given their bets, try and determine approximately how good you think their hand is. Is it weak? Is it mediocre? Is it strong? You can then think about what kinds of hands will fall into these different groups (and it's important to remember that what your opponent considers strong or mediocre might differ strongly from what you think these things mean.) and just try and be as general as possible.