Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Golf
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-03-2007, 02:15 PM

Default Introducing a 4-year old to golf

My daughter just turned 4, so I got her her first set of golf clubs. US Kids Golf brand: 9 iron (with a molded grip), 7-iron, driver and putter. She's never played before, except putt-putt, but claims (like any four year old) to know how to play and wants to play with Dad. So, any advice from the pros/teachers here on how best to teach her golf while still making it fun? I myself am about a 5 handicap, so should be well-equipped to teach her for at least the next few years before turning her over to you guys.
Old 07-03-2007, 04:52 PM

Default Re: Introducing a 4-year old to golf

I'm not a pro, but I have a 4 year old son. I got him a set of juniors (driver, 9/PW, 7/8, 5/6, putter). I just tee them up on some smooth-ground grass I keep mowed short (1 inch or so) and let him swing.

I try to keep him on the basics: "Swing through, don't chop (as he likes to do)", "Keep your eye on the ball", etc. Not too much though - if he gets frustrated, he'll just quit for a while.

I've taken him out with me on some "just for fun" rounds (begs the question: what other kind is there? [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] ) and let him hit on the tees and then pick up to where my ball is and hit again. Then putt out on the green.

What are your goals? I'm just trying to introduce the game and generate and/or judge interest levels. I try to keep it *very* casual. I'm not knocking anyone that tries more seriously with their kids, its just not for me.

I occasionally ask if he's interested in taking a "class" (like he has for tee ball, soccer, swimming) and get mixed results. If he shows enough interest next year, maybe we'll try one.