Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Politics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-09-2007, 01:52 PM

Default Flat tax blowback

According to Neil, the flat tax would basically mean a 22-30% sales tax. I have yet to read the manual for this proposed tax plan, but I think it may have a practical problem for the economy. Our economy is ever-growing largely because of our consumer society and people's constant buy, buy, buy, spend, spend, spend mentality. Do you not think the psychological effect of a 25 or 30% sales tax would make people less willing to shop as they currently do? This may be good if people actually invested this money instead, but nonetheless it would be bad for the economy.
Old 11-09-2007, 01:59 PM

Default Re: Flat tax blowback

I'm so confused, why would a flat tax have any change on sales tax? I'm a noob.
Old 11-09-2007, 02:03 PM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

A flat tax reduces tax revenue because it would stop punishing people for being rich. However, tax expenditures sure as heck aren't going down under any government plan. Therefore, to get the tax revenue they need they would need to add a tax. The best way to add a tax (from a political perspective) is to hammer the rich because everybody hates "the rich" (defined as people richer than them) and so a sales tax is perfect - it scales to consumption levels which are higher for the rich. In conclusion, we exchange one tax system that punishes people for being rich for a tax system that punishes people for being rich PLUS highly valuable rhetoric about fairness. Hooray for tax reform.
Old 11-09-2007, 02:16 PM

Neil?

[ QUOTE ]
Do you not think the psychological effect of a 25 or 30% sales tax would make people less willing to shop as they currently do? This may be good if people actually invested this money instead, but nonetheless it would be bad for the economy.

[/ QUOTE ]