Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes

Old 11-13-2007, 10:34 PM

Default OT: Poker Reality TV Show Proposal

Hi everyone,

As a recent Rutgers graduate, I recently received an email promotion from TruTV (formerly CourtTV): http://www.trutv.com/pitchtour/. I am going to submit a proposal for a poker-based reality TV show. Ideally, the show, tentatively dubbed "House of Cards" would include 12 somewhat varied contestants (preferably a mix of SSNL, MSNL, HSNL, limit, donkament, etc)
to compete in elimination style episodes for some monetary prize: perhaps something like $100,000 and full buyins to the WSOP or something (obviously, this would not be determined by me).

Anyway, the format would be similar to that of Bravo's reality TV shows: Project Runway, Top Chef, etc, where the first half of the hour episode would be "drama" footage, and the last half hour being some sort of competition to eliminate a person. The competitions would be varied (home game style tournaments, HU tournaments, cash game results - ie, most BB's won in a 10,000 hand period, etc.). Like most of these shows, the winner would receive some sort of extra prize, and the loser would be out (or maybe last two would play HU, something like that would make for exciting TV).

To help market the "viewability" of such a program, I am going to quantitatively analyze relative TV ratings of WPT, Bravo's Celeb poker show, ESPN's WSOP coverage, Poker After Dark, etc. I do think there is a market in this type of programming, and hopefull this can capitalize on poker's popularity.