Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > The Lounge: Discussion+Review
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-22-2007, 03:52 PM

Default Why do Americans work so much?

Surprise, I am American. Some background:I am a late 30's male, college educated doing a job I love. I am a PGA Professional and the Facility GM for a golf course/hotel combo. I easily work 60 hours a week and have 2 children that I spend almost all of my free time with.

My wife and I often have small arguments about the hours professional people put in. My thought is if you are going to be successful you have to strive to be the best. To me the hours are a byproduct of working to achieve that goal. I tell her 60 is reasonable for professional/salaried people.

The average household income in the region I live in is, I believe, around $50k annually. Hard to break that as an hourly worker and to double that number (which is still a small amount to many Balla poker players) takes a certain amount of dedication and time committment.

Just curious how many share my thoughts, or am I a chump?
Old 08-22-2007, 04:04 PM

Default Re: Why do Americans work so much?

I work 40-45 hours a week and make nearly $100k.

I'd never work 60 hours a week for more than a very short duration. My stomach goes to acid reflux hell, I'm exhausted, I miss my wife and kids, they hate me because I'm never there, I get flabby because there's no time for the gym...
Old 08-22-2007, 04:06 PM

If you got a boss to convince you that working 60s was standard for a 40 hour a week salary then you are a chump.
Old 08-22-2007, 04:12 PM

I make $90k and work a MAX of 35 hours a week. Usually less.

I also get 28 days paid holiday a year.

No idea why you work so hard
Old 08-22-2007, 04:46 PM

I work 10 hours a day 5 days a week...and make 31K [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Old 08-22-2007, 04:52 PM

[ QUOTE ]