Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:00 PM
Zorlac Zorlac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 73
Default What should be the ruling here?


Two players involved in a large pot at showdown. A scare (flush) card appears on the river. Out of position guy checks his 2 pair. Aggressive guy in position fires a large bet. OOP thinks for some time then calls, obviously frustrated. Aggressive guy, possibly angle shooting, says "Got a flush..."

2 pair guy angrily flips his hand over in front on him and says "Take it". Everyone at the table including the dealer see his hand.

Now for the key moment - another player at the table tosses his cards into the muck before the other hand is shown.

The other guy now says "No...i meant, do you have a flush?". He now reveals 1 pair for what was the losing hand.

"...but I'll take the pot, his cards are in the muck" he says.

What proceeds now is an almighty blowup at the table. The floor is called over.

What's the right call?



.Z
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:03 PM
tyler9768 tyler9768 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

In my very uninformed opinion, the guy with the best hand wins. Cards speak and everyone saw them. Goes double if they are easily identifiable in the muck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:08 PM
doucheburger doucheburger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

2 pair wins. easy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:13 PM
budblown budblown is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Smelling the 6 ft Kush plant
Posts: 450
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

right call is 2 pair wins the pot. Hand was turned over. Simple and done.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2007, 10:39 PM
bav bav is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

Once his cards are tabled, they play. Another player cannot kill his hand. Dealer cannot kill his hand. Guy who said "flush" and tried to claim the pot needs to be told forcefully by the floor that intentionally miscalling a hand is cheating and won't be tolerated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:01 PM
fraserbrown fraserbrown is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CANADA
Posts: 392
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

The guy who had the two pair verbally surrendered the hand, its not clear if the statement by the other player was a question or a statement. The guy with one pair was under no obligation to show his cards, so I dont know why he did. It seems like his statement was a question so he takes the pot. What did the floor rule?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:18 PM
budblown budblown is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Smelling the 6 ft Kush plant
Posts: 450
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

[ QUOTE ]
The guy who had the two pair verbally surrendered the hand, its not clear if the statement by the other player was a question or a statement. The guy with one pair was under no obligation to show his cards, so I dont know why he did. It seems like his statement was a question so he takes the pot. What did the floor rule?

[/ QUOTE ]

You can only verbally surrender your hand if you do not show. If he shows, his verbal declaration of "take it" does not set precedence until the other player shows a winner.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2007, 12:07 AM
Zorlac Zorlac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 73
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

The reaction of the guy that said 'flush' lead me to believe it was an angle shoot. You would think most 'reasonable' people would give the pot to the best hand no matter what the ruling. But the angle shooter started making a BIG scene, finger pointing and yelling at the floor "YOU KNOW WHAT THE RIGHT RULING IS!".

Floor told the dealer to award the pot to the best hand (2 pair).



.Z
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2007, 02:36 AM
youtalkfunny youtalkfunny is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Exiled from OOT
Posts: 6,767
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

[ QUOTE ]
Floor told the dealer to award the pot to the best hand (2 pair).

[/ QUOTE ]

I love a happy ending.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-18-2007, 09:56 AM
AngusThermopyle AngusThermopyle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Riding Binky toward Ankh-Morpork
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: What should be the ruling here?

[ QUOTE ]
The guy who had the two pair verbally surrendered the hand, its not clear if the statement by the other player was a question or a statement. The guy with one pair was under no obligation to show his cards, so I dont know why he did. It seems like his statement was a question so he takes the pot.

[/ QUOTE ]

You either have a problem with reading comprehension or have never played in a B & M.

Showdown.
Player A tables his cards face up. He shows 2 pair.
Player B either shows a better hand or loses the pot. He shows 1 pair.

2 pair wins beats 1 pair.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.