Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-14-2007, 05:44 AM

Default Trading by myself - how feasible is it to make a living at it?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I really don't want to google it because, well, vested interest that doesn't align with mine, and all.

I would have to start pretty much from scratch. I majored in business and wrote my bachelor thesis on a finance subject, but that's it. I currently do not own any stocks, although I do plan to buy some index funds as an investment. I have read threads here and have some recommended books coming to me from Amazon.

I always had some kind of Ponzi-scheme attitude towards professional daytraders - some get lucky, but most people fail, and the big ones make their money on commission, and are not necessarily more +EV than the market. Then I realized that I would probably think the same about card players if I was a layman. And I managed to do that - so why not trading?

Would an approach similar to poker work? Ie. start out with a little bit and go from there, picking up skills along the way? Or do I need to be backed by algorithms developed by theoretical physicists to have a chance?

What would be my best source of information - is there like a 2+2 of day traders? I mean I'm sure there are lots of forums, but I probably couldn't tell the difference between 2+2 and FCP if I knew nothing about poker.
Old 09-14-2007, 06:08 AM

Default Re: Trading by myself - how feasible is it to make a living at it?

The difference between trading and poker is that you can't select easy games. You're competing against the pros, teams with hundreds of phd analysts and modelers.
Old 09-14-2007, 07:18 AM

The only forum that's *really* any good for this kind of stuff is this one:

http://www.nuclearphynance.com/