Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

Old 03-07-2006, 03:04 AM

Default 5 Skills to Gain Immediately

Cliffs Notes At Bottom

This was mentioned in another thread and actually caused me to give it some serious thought. If you could gain 5 specialized skills immediately, what would they be and why? These should not be supernatural and preferably not utterly absurd. I think the exercise is most interesting if you answer with real stuff.

My list, which I will almost certainly have to revise - in no particular order:

Virtuouso Piano Playing
I studied music in college, among other things, and play bass guitar very well. I am an above-average guitar player also. But if I were to pick one instrument to be brilliant on, it would be piano. First, because a good pianist is ALWAYS needed. Second, because piano is the most useful instrument for composition, and being able to play things and transcribe them at such a high level would elevate my songwriting abilities. And third, because I really like music for piano - jazz piano, nocturnes, all sorts of stuff.

Interrogation
In some ways I think it would be a curse to be able to easily tell every time you're being lied to. People lie to me constantly at my job, both the kids I work with and the staff I supervise. It's irritating, and I know it's happening, but a lot of times it's better not to call people on it. But being curious, and being extremely competitive, I don't think I could resist this possibility.

Field Medicine
I don't want to be a doctor, but if the sh.it really hits the fan, it would be cool to know a lot about diseases, internal injuries, surgery with rudimentary instruments, etc. I guess you could just say surgical skills, but there's a particular reason for it. I really think the world is going to get ridiculous in my lifetime and I'd like to be capable in hairy situations.