Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-16-2007, 03:01 PM

Default I need to go back to school and get a Master\'s. Possibly in Finance

The facts:
1. Graduated with a degree in biology 3 years ago (I'm 25 now) from your basic NY mid-tier SUNY school. Never went into that field and don't want to go into that field. I kind of regret my degree choice but it's too late now.

2. I'm currently a phone rep making about $32,000 a year (crappy, but at least I live in a low cost of living area and I have awesome benefits). And can play poker to supplement income a little bit, although post-legislation I'm not even close to a huge winner.

3. I'm putting very little money away. I can afford to pay all my bills easily and have a little fun, but I'm basically near busto and tired of telling people that I have a 4 year degree but I work as an effing phone rep.

4. I really don't want to go back to school to get another bachelor's degree. If I'm going to go back, I would much prefer to get a master's.

5. I graduated with a GPA of 3.45, so I don't think I've completely ruined my chances of getting into a Graduate program. I'm definitely willing to move out of state if the program seems good.

Now my question:

I need a master's degree in something that will actually help me get a decent paying career started. I'm thinking something like a Master's in Finance or an MBA? Obviously I would only be able to do a mid-tier school since my college background and work experience would never get me into a top school. I'm okay with that as long as I can get a job making at least 45k-50k starting and with good prospects for making more as I get more experienced.(would need higher if I move to a higher cost of living area)