Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2007, 01:32 PM

Default Barron whats your r.o.r??

Your insight into the market is phenomenal,

I feel I am a stock newb with handling my own investments (although i did a whole year of following a mock portfoilio with research prior to jumping in)

but have been quite happy with my results 13% return April - July)out of the market in August and 5.3% in Sept.

Maybe Im on the good side of variance and running hot.

So here's the ultimate question,
Whats your avg return?
Whats this years return?
Old 10-04-2007, 02:10 PM

Default Re: Barron whats your r.o.r??

[ QUOTE ]
Your insight into the market is phenomenal,

I feel I am a stock newb with handling my own investments (although i did a whole year of following a mock portfoilio with research prior to jumping in)

but have been quite happy with my results 13% return April - July)out of the market in August and 5.3% in Sept.

Maybe Im on the good side of variance and running hot.

So here's the ultimate question,
Whats your avg return?
Whats this years return?

[/ QUOTE ]

r.o.r. isn't the best measure to go off of.

information coefficient (or information ratio) is a far more telling measure of your skill. it is the excess returns you get (your nominal total return minus say, 3 mo tbill rates) divided by some measure of the risk you take (usually the compound standard deviation of your excess returns). it tells you how many units of return you generate for every unit of risk taken.