Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Full Ring
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-27-2007, 08:13 AM

Default Trying to improve your game? How?

I want to constantly improve as a player. I want to win big tournaments, and sit at big tables with confidence. I am committed to learning, and playing well at the tables I sit at.

I play large-field tournaments and single/2-table Full-Ring (at nl100 now, and transitioning to nl200, where I've played in the past). I also play the odd SNG, and also satellites into more expensive tourneys (which I often cash out - I find these fields much softer than, say, the 10/180s). I'm not a pro, so I also play as a hobby rather than a job. I am a more experienced tourney player (2 years+) than NL FR player (6 months+).

Here's the ways I try and improve:

1) I play FR shortstack at least one session a week. This keeps me sharp on what good shortstack play is, and makes it much easier to spot good and bad SS players, and play back at them more appropriately.

2) I try and play an 8+ table session once every 2 weeks. This gives me an insight into how multitablers think and act, and helps in playing back at them. This is a recent addition to my pokerlife.

3) I read a lot. 2+2 is useful. I acquire books at a fair rate too, and tend to skim new books for stuff I need to read more deeply, and note stuff that I'll need to revisit in future. NLTAP is probably the book I use most at the moment. I also read and reread chapters and articles I find useful until they are fully internalised. I'll often reread the same article 10-20 times over a few weeks, to make sure I've thoroughly understood it (it's too easy to read poker books and remember the simple bits, and forget the exceptions/unusuals).