Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

Old 05-25-2007, 02:10 PM

Default Who gambles online?

Edit/MH: Received from Joanne:

'Thanks to everyone who completed the survey, and thank you for all the comments; they have been very enlightening. We are now in the process of reviewing the feedback, and will be making changes based upon what we have learned. I will post an update within the next few weeks, for those of you who are interested.
Joanne.'

I am a psychology researcher working on a Gambling Survey, [Edit/MH: Link removed as it is no longer live], which has been designed to improve understanding of the characteristics of people who gamble online.

We are launching an online study in a few weeks, at which time you may spot links to our research going up on some of the big (and small) poker and online gambling websites. Before we launch this study large-scale, though, we need to road test it with real gamblers, to be sure we make the research as useful as it can be. We would be very grateful if you would try out the survey (on the basis of complete anonymity). There is the option to leave feedback in a text box at the end of the survey, or you can pm me, here. I would be grateful if you didn’t pass out the link beyond these forums, because we are still in pilot phase of the survey. That said, we will analyse the data we collect, so please, if you do decide to help us out, only fill the survey in once, and try to respond genuinely. As a thank you for your time, you will have the option to enter a prize draw to win one of six 80GB video-playing iPods.

I do apologise if anyone considers this message to be ‘spam’. I would like to reassure you that we are not conducting market research or collecting data for any for-profit reasons. I would also like to make clear that there is no political agenda underpinning our study.