Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Health and Fitness
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-01-2007, 04:11 AM

Default Need reliable information, basic help

I'm looking to getting back into shape this summer with regular cardio workout and weight training. I have some experience with lifting weights, but I really went at it the wrong way, being misinformed. I don't want to basically injure myself or take supplements that will have detrimental long term effects.

During that period of heavy lifting, I was looking to bulk up and I basically gained 30 lbs from 150 to 180 in one summer, eating a lot and using whey. After atrophying away and inconsistently working out for the past 3 years I'm back down to 165. I want to gain some weight, but I'm looking to just get more tone and not bulky.

So some questions:
1) What kind of supplements are good? I read these websites and they're recommending creatine, glutamine, whey, etc. I don't want to have my kidneys crash. I was planning on just taking whey, since it seems more of a "natural" product. What 'bout glutamine?
2) How often do you do cardio a week? Do you do this after lifting? I get bored running, and will try to get cardio from doing sports related activities like bball, tennis, and soccer. I plan on increasing endurance. I also hear, running sprints is good for strength training.

3) How do routines differentiate from getting cut vs. getting big? I don't really know what routine/program I'm doing. I just try to find a heavy enough weight to do 5 reps until muscle failure. I will also taper down with lighter weights during each set.

Thanks for everyone's input. Just looking for some reliable information from people who are more experienced.
Old 05-01-2007, 08:58 AM

Default Re: Need reliable information, basic help