Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-19-2007, 03:58 PM

Default Caesars 2-5-10: KK vs. Dr. Amir

Caesars Palace 2-5 game with a forced straddle
Villain is Dr. Amir Naseeri, the superdonk from HSP. He's super-loose-aggressive, and he knows I'm a pro.
I have $2600. He has me covered.

Amir limps UTG
Everyone folds to me in SB
I raise to 60 with KK
BB calls
Straddle calls
Amir reraises to 450

With AA, I would reraise to 1000 and shove any flop (or, if the flop was uncoordinated, I might check the flop and shove the turn).

With KK, however, I am concerned that an A might flop, and then what do I do?

Is this a valid concern, or should I play KK the same way I play AA here?
Old 09-19-2007, 04:08 PM

Default Re: Caesars 2-5-10: KK vs. Dr. Amir

i like the 1k/shove line. But is there better? What kinds of hands do you think he could have here? Would he talk himself into calling with 88-QQ if you just shoved (thinking you have AK)? I'm just thinking that you lose some value vs. TT when an over flops, AK when he whiffs, etc.

I think the hand comes down to what his calling range is pre vs. post flop. I don't think you get a lot of value from him postflop unless he outflops you.

Another thing to remember is that there's a very small chance of an ace flopping in the first place, and considering the action it is likely that there are only 2 left in the deck. If you like the 2 stage shove enough with AA, I don't think there's enough of a difference with KK all things considered.

Are you shoving AK, QQ, JJ here?

Sorry for the long response/all the questions. This is a very interesting spot
Old 09-19-2007, 04:37 PM

[ QUOTE ]
i like the 1k/shove line. But is there better? What kinds of hands do you think he could have here?

[/ QUOTE ]

I think he could have almost anything.

[ QUOTE ]