Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > EDF
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-03-2007, 11:32 AM

Default Basic legal things everyone should know

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer (IANAL). Hopefully, some lawyers will chime in with some good items, but you don't have to be a lawyer to know the law, so if you have some good advice or knowledge please share it. Also, everything I am writing is specific to the US.

So, I will start with a couple of contract items everyone should really know. Contract law covers a lot more than you may think. When you go into a convenience store and buy a drink, you are executing a contract.

First thing: in order to have a valid contract there must be bargain and consideration. What that means is that both sides have to get something out of the deal. It also means that gift promises are not enforceable. So if I say I am going to give you half of my cash if I win the wsop me this year, I don't have to. We don't have a contract because there was no bargain and consideration. If I say I will give you half if you buy my dinner tonight, then there was bargain and consideration.

Second thing: minors can void any contract they enter into. This may affect a lot of posters. What does this mean? If you are 16, buy a lizzard at the pet store, and it dies, you can take it back and get your money back. (Note: you may have to go to court because the store clerk/manager has no clue that you can legally just void that contract. And you would have to give them their now dead lizard back.) If you buy a car and wreck it, same thing. (Though no dealership is going to sell you a car without having an adult co sign). This protection extends to a reasonable time after you turn 18, though I think that is only for contracts entered before you were 18. (So you enter a contract, turn 18, and you still have a little time to void it, though it is very fuzzy just how much).