Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications

Old 11-10-2007, 06:46 PM

Default Review: No-Limit Hold\'em Hand by Hand by Neil Myers

Hello All,

I just finished this book and as promised, I wanted to give you my review. All in all, I believe that this book is geared towards late beginners to intermediate play - there are some concepts here that are well beyond the scope of absolute beginners. The author has chosen to skip all the preambles about rules/blind structures of hold'em (and correctly so) and delves right into concepts regarding No-Limit that new NL players (coming from tournament and limit hold'em) should be aware of. The contents of this book is geared almost exclusively to the low buy in structure ($1/$2 and $2/$5) that is similar to the game that Angel Largay discusses.

Here is a summary of the book:
Chapter 1 - Cash Games vs. Tournaments - discussion on how the two forms are different
Chapter 2 - Limit vs. Nl Hold'em - discussion on how the two forms are different
Chapter 3 - New NL vs. Old NL Holdem - this is a brief chapter but a fairly good discussion on how the NL cardroom games have changed from unlimited buy in to maximum buy ins (to help keep the games going by not busting out the live ones too soon) and how the game evolved in the past few years. He also provides a discussion on why Doyle's SS advice is not applicable to the $1/2 game because Doyle plays in the big games where the stacks are very deep.
Chapter 4 - Tale of Two Games - discussion on short stack vs. deep stack play - author advocates short stack for beginner players and a lot of concepts discussed are already covered in Miller's book (Miller is referenced and given credit for his book in this section)