Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2007, 12:43 AM
jesse8888 jesse8888 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Missing bets with King high
Posts: 833
Default Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

Live 6/12 game. Lots of betting, and on the river player 1 bets out and player 2 raises. The action is headsup. Player 2 said very clearly (at least I heard it) "raizit" in his russian accent. Player 1 tables his hand without calling the bet. Player 2 says "send it" and opens his straight. Player 1 has a boat. The dealer reads both hands, and pushes the pot to player 1, after destroying the board and both hands (putting them back in the much/stub pile).

Floor is called over and the ruling is upheld. Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2007, 12:52 AM
RR RR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: on-line
Posts: 5,113
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

[ QUOTE ]
Live 6/12 game. Lots of betting, and on the river player 1 bets out and player 2 raises. The action is headsup. Player 2 said very clearly (at least I heard it) "raizit" in his russian accent. Player 1 tables his hand without calling the bet. Player 2 says "send it" and opens his straight. Player 1 has a boat. The dealer reads both hands, and pushes the pot to player 1, after destroying the board and both hands (putting them back in the much/stub pile).

Floor is called over and the ruling is upheld. Is this correct?

[/ QUOTE ]

Well Player 1 needs to call the final bet, but he is welcome to do so right now if he would like.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2007, 12:53 AM
Mr Rick Mr Rick is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 564
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

Maybe not technically - but in the spirit of the best interest of the game it is.

I have seen this happen - and the dealer asked the player opening his hand whether he was calling or folding. The player then realized he had to push a bet out and did so (in my case without having seen the other hand).

In this case the dealer assumed it was a call. And the Floor backed him up. Worst hand failed to win on a technicality.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2007, 01:29 AM
Milo Milo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canterbury Park
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

Opening your hand heads up in a cash game is generally not a fold. The player is typically given the opportunity to act, even after opening his hand.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2007, 11:11 AM
zunni74 zunni74 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

Couldn't you even turn your cards face-up in front of you and play the entire hand that way? (not sure why you'd want to) Turning your cards over does not fold your hand.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2007, 11:57 AM
andyfox andyfox is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: La-la land, where else?
Posts: 17,636
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

I think he should raise.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2007, 11:57 AM
SNOWBALL SNOWBALL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Where the citizens kneel 4 sex
Posts: 7,795
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

[ QUOTE ]
Couldn't you even turn your cards face-up in front of you and play the entire hand that way? (not sure why you'd want to) Turning your cards over does not fold your hand.

[/ QUOTE ]

bingo

as long as it's HU, you can do whatever you want. If you are routinely exposing cards multiway, then other players can rightfully object
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:17 PM
capngoldfish capngoldfish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 6
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

[ QUOTE ]
Live 6/12 game. Lots of betting, and on the river player 1 bets out and player 2 raises. The action is headsup. Player 2 said very clearly (at least I heard it) "raizit" in his russian accent. Player 1 tables his hand without calling the bet. Player 2 says "send it" and opens his straight. Player 1 has a boat. The dealer reads both hands, and pushes the pot to player 1, after destroying the board and both hands (putting them back in the much/stub pile).

Floor is called over and the ruling is upheld. Is this correct?

[/ QUOTE ]

The only problem I see here is that the dealer should have asked player 1 if he calls the bet before awarding him the pot. It has already been pointed out that exposing your hand in a live game does not kill the hand, but a call must still be made either verbally or by putting the chips in the pot. The dealer made a mistake by assuming that it was a call and awarding the pot without making the player complete the action.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:19 PM
psandman psandman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 2,346
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
Live 6/12 game. Lots of betting, and on the river player 1 bets out and player 2 raises. The action is headsup. Player 2 said very clearly (at least I heard it) "raizit" in his russian accent. Player 1 tables his hand without calling the bet. Player 2 says "send it" and opens his straight. Player 1 has a boat. The dealer reads both hands, and pushes the pot to player 1, after destroying the board and both hands (putting them back in the much/stub pile).

Floor is called over and the ruling is upheld. Is this correct?

[/ QUOTE ]

Well Player 1 needs to call the final bet, but he is welcome to do so right now if he would like.

[/ QUOTE ]

Of course it is possible that he said call in a low voice which the dealer heard, but OP didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:05 PM
Rottersod Rottersod is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Where I Want To Be
Posts: 3,154
Default Re: Player didn\'t call the last bet but tabled his boat

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
Live 6/12 game. Lots of betting, and on the river player 1 bets out and player 2 raises. The action is headsup. Player 2 said very clearly (at least I heard it) "raizit" in his russian accent. Player 1 tables his hand without calling the bet. Player 2 says "send it" and opens his straight. Player 1 has a boat. The dealer reads both hands, and pushes the pot to player 1, after destroying the board and both hands (putting them back in the much/stub pile).

Floor is called over and the ruling is upheld. Is this correct?

[/ QUOTE ]

The only problem I see here is that the dealer should have asked player 1 if he calls the bet before awarding him the pot. It has already been pointed out that exposing your hand in a live game does not kill the hand, but a call must still be made either verbally or by putting the chips in the pot. The dealer made a mistake by assuming that it was a call and awarding the pot without making the player complete the action.

[/ QUOTE ]

It's a limit game. It's such an obvious call that there is no need for the dealer to ask. If it was NL that would be different.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.