Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2007, 11:22 AM
pokerg1 pokerg1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 235
Default TD Ameritrade problem?

How come when I make a sell, I have to wait a certain amount of days before I have available cash to trade again?this means i cant trade more then once in a day if i wanted to...anyone know if Zecco have this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2007, 11:25 AM
ItalianFX ItalianFX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 3 Weeks to Freedom
Posts: 4,808
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

It's because they need to wait for the funds to clear. Just because you "sell," it doesn't mean that the paperwork and everything else is instantly transferred.

If you want to trade continuously, look into getting a margin account, or find more money and don't put all of your money into one investment.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2007, 11:43 AM
pokerg1 pokerg1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 235
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

paperwork.....why is it that my funds were clear when i made a trade before instantly?? robot did paperwork??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:26 PM
stephenNUTS stephenNUTS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 964
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

[ QUOTE ]
It's because they need to wait for the funds to clear. Just because you "sell," it doesn't mean that the paperwork and everything else is instantly transferred.

If you want to trade continuously, look into getting a margin account, or find more money and don't put all of your money into one investment.

[/ QUOTE ]

In a cash account,your funds are technically available in T+3

Please list the specifics and I can help/explain better:
Are you looking to withdraw your funds?
Do you want to enter a new postion?

Stephen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2007, 01:07 PM
ahnuld ahnuld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10,945
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

yeah, this is weird, but I have a margin account so it never comes up. I dont use the margin but it gives me room to go a bit over/under my total portfolio and helps with this particular situation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2007, 03:16 PM
pokerg1 pokerg1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 235
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

Stephen, say i have $1000 and buy stocks monday morning and sell monday afternoon. i wont be able to trade tuesday and i have to wait like 3 days before i can trade again..if i have a margin account will this 3 day waiting period be gone??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-28-2007, 03:47 PM
stoxtrader stoxtrader is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: stoxpoker
Posts: 2,811
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

[ QUOTE ]
Stephen, say i have $1000 and buy stocks monday morning and sell monday afternoon. i wont be able to trade tuesday and i have to wait like 3 days before i can trade again..if i have a margin account will this 3 day waiting period be gone??

[/ QUOTE ]

changing to a margin account should solve this issue. I think the reason for it is because when you sell something your broker does not recieve the cash until the trade settles, which is date of the trade + 3 business days.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-28-2007, 04:28 PM
pokerg1 pokerg1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 235
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

so will i be able to trade without waiting 3 days or do i have to buy stocks using say with a margin of 2k, 1k for trades?? do i still have to wait for margin cash to settle??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-28-2007, 05:27 PM
mmctrab mmctrab is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Steeler country
Posts: 478
Default Re: TD Ameritrade problem?

[ QUOTE ]
so will i be able to trade without waiting 3 days or do i have to buy stocks using say with a margin of 2k, 1k for trades?? do i still have to wait for margin cash to settle??

[/ QUOTE ]

You can trade without waiting the three days as long as you have margin left. You should definitely open a margin account even if you never use the margin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.