Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Stud

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:32 AM
tongni tongni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,413
Default Re: Stud8 - (AA)4 , did I put in the appropriate amount of action here?

You should really just call the raise on 4th. You are giving up a lot of deception value if you will only do this with buried aces or trips on 4th. Against a razz hand you only have 57% equity, and you are turning your hand face up with the extra action. I would wait until 5th to raise if he catches bad.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-30-2007, 06:44 AM
Raxxmataxx Raxxmataxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Default Re: Stud8 - (AA)4 , did I put in the appropriate amount of action here

[ QUOTE ]
You should really just call the raise on 4th. You are giving up a lot of deception value if you will only do this with buried aces or trips on 4th. Against a razz hand you only have 57% equity, and you are turning your hand face up with the extra action. I would wait until 5th to raise if he catches bad.

[/ QUOTE ]I think it's even possible he should check back in the first place with 100% of his range due to the difference in board strength.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:35 AM
mshalen mshalen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Moving to Chicago
Posts: 881
Default Re: Stud8 - (AA)4 , did I put in the appropriate amount of action here

I have a question about the completion on 3rd. Why not just call and invite the Q or T to maybe limp in or raise and take a shot at a second best hand? Also I guess one of my leaks is that I discount the possibility of the bring in having a hand.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:04 PM
Raxxmataxx Raxxmataxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Default Re: Stud8 - (AA)4 , did I put in the appropriate amount of action here

[ QUOTE ]
Why not just call and invite the Q or T to maybe limp in or raise and take a shot at a second best hand?

[/ QUOTE ]I don't limp any hand here. But if you do, you should definitely limp (AA)4 as well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:57 AM
Andy B Andy B is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Blowing 0.0%
Posts: 9,170
Default Re: Stud8 - (AA)4 , did I put in the appropriate amount of action here

In hero's spot, I raise third with a lot of hands. I figure that if I raise with crap often enough, I ought to raise when I actually have a hand as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.