Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-07-2007, 01:49 PM

Default Soreness after working out

Ok I wanted to put this in the beginner lifting thread but I only have a min before I leave for class, so I dont have time to find the thread. Anyway I dont really have a spare $30 to drop on protein powder so I dont have a shake after working out but I worked out monday and I did squats, bench and deadlifts and today my hams and glutes are still just slightly sore if I use em. Should I continue with my workout tonight with squats, press, rows? I am a noob to weight lifting, should I get protein powder asap?
Old 02-07-2007, 01:51 PM

Default Re: Soreness after working out

You need rest, go at it again on Wednesday. Your muscles are going to be sore any time you start doing something new with them.
Old 02-07-2007, 01:53 PM

Never work out a sore muscle group.
Old 02-07-2007, 01:53 PM

Don't do the same exercise 2 days in a row, but I do find that I'm less sore when I exercise on that 2nd day after.
-Sam
Old 02-07-2007, 02:06 PM

Get protein powder if you want to add bulk. But if massive bulking isn't your goal just eat some high protein food within 45 mins of working out (eg. fish, meat, cheese, soy etc)
Old 02-07-2007, 02:54 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Get protein powder if you want to add bulk. But if massive bulking isn't your goal just eat some high protein food within 45 mins of working out (eg. fish, meat, cheese, soy etc)

[/ QUOTE ]

haha, no.
Old 02-07-2007, 02:59 PM

get soem glutamine, and take it before you go to bed
Old 02-07-2007, 03:02 PM

I don't lift as much as I used to but my friend who works out frequently says it is bad to work out a sore muscle group. Just wait a day or 2 and do it again. He said your 'fast-twitch fibers' will not react correctly when they are sore.
Old 02-07-2007, 03:34 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I did squats, bench and deadlifts

[/ QUOTE ]