Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro Stakes Limit

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2007, 05:25 AM
poreska poreska is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default Do you always give them credit?

Full Tilt Poker, $0.25/$0.50 Limit Hold'em Cash Game, 8 Players
LeggoPoker.com - Hand History Converter

Pre-Flop: J[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] dealt to Hero (BTN)
2 folds, MP1 calls, 2 folds, <font color="red">Hero raises</font>, SB calls, BB folds, MP1 calls

Flop: (7 SB) J[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 6[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 5[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] (3 Players)
SB checks, MP1 checks, <font color="red">Hero bets</font>, SB calls, MP1 calls

Turn: (5 BB) 9[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] (3 Players)
SB checks, MP1 checks, <font color="red">Hero bets</font>, SB folds, <font color="red">MP1 raises</font>, Hero ???

MP1 has been playing pretty loose/passive, but can we really give him credit for the flush here? Surely if we fold here we are asking for everyone and their dog to bet into us when the third flush card falls?

I may have also been influenced by the fact I had been bashed a few hands in a row at this point, and was thinking "Surely it hasn't happened again?"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2007, 05:28 AM
BadBigBabar BadBigBabar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: the green elephant returns
Posts: 520
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

as long as you don't fold it's okay either way. you realize mathwise even if he turns his flush faceup on the table you have to call right?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2007, 05:30 AM
Mitke Mitke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: On a learning curve...
Posts: 308
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

Call-down, in addition to the flush, 87 just got a straight.

He could have been slowplaying a lower set too, some of the time, or hit 99, or J9 but if a passive player raises I just call-down here without more accurate reads.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2007, 05:42 AM
OziBattler OziBattler is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 363ing the micros
Posts: 3,940
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

folding would be very bad. OP, can you tell me why?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2007, 05:44 AM
DavidSRT DavidSRT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 183
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

You have 10 outs, like BBB said even if he showed you his flush you need to call. if you fill up on the river, you can C/R the crap out of him.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2007, 09:15 AM
rhayder rhayder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 71
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

Grunch:

Call it down you still have outs for the full house then you can win a huge pot when the board pairs or you get quads.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2007, 09:42 AM
Fadook Fadook is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: giving you $$$
Posts: 753
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

That old maxim "never fold a set before the river" applies here without a doubt. You have 10 outs if you're behind, folding is awful.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2007, 10:18 AM
LukeSLTS LukeSLTS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Little Easy
Posts: 259
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

Never fold this. I wouldn't be adverse to a three bet either because we have position and a lot of outs if we are behind. If you have been bashed recently calling down is a solid low variance approach to this spot but you may miss value against aggressive villains.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:04 AM
Vex Vex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 193
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

Others have stated the obvious about your hand strength and outs, but I want to add this:

[ QUOTE ]

MP1 has been playing pretty loose/passive, but can we really give him credit for the flush here? Surely if we fold here we are asking for everyone and their dog to bet into us when the third flush card falls?


[/ QUOTE ]

1&gt; I think the bolded bit is giving microstakes players in general too much credit.

2&gt; If the bolded part were true, wouldn't it be a good thing for you if people bluffed into you when scare cards hit?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:50 AM
Smurph64 Smurph64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,574
Default Re: Do you always give them credit?

Man seeing a lot of hands like this today.

I just had a cap preflop hand with 66 against a bad player , the flop comes 2,4,5 I call his 3 bet, turn is a 6 and he 3 bets again.

He can't have a 3? I cap he leads the river and I call down with my missed full house as he shows 23o .

When crap happens it happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.