Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-16-2007, 01:33 PM

Default Online beginner

Hi, I'm fairly new to poker (6 months) and I've played about 700 games or so on-line. I've lost about $400. I usually play $5 no-limit 9-person tournaments, and sometimes the $10, at FullTilt. Is this a good place for me to be playing and should I be disheartened that I'm down so much so soon? I feel like I'm a competent player, I just get impatient sometimes, or go on tilt and blow everything I worked all week to earn. Anybody have any advice?

I've read the Harrington books, and I've got the Sklansky's No-Limit Theory and Practice book.

UPDATE: I just found a post with the exact same question, but I'm a little confused. Are Sit-and-Gos always the tourneys or are cash games called SnG as well?
Old 10-16-2007, 01:48 PM

Default Re: Online beginner

Cash games are called sometimes called ring games. Cash games are never called SnG. SnG are always tournies.
Old 10-16-2007, 01:57 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I feel like I'm a competent player, I just get impatient sometimes,

[/ QUOTE ]

Patience was the hardest thing for me to learn, and the single most important thing.
Old 10-16-2007, 01:59 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I've lost about $400.

[/ QUOTE ]

Don't do that!
I'd recommend really really good bankroll management while you're learning.

I'm new too and I haven't lost anything.

Some articles:
http://www.fulltiltpoker.com/poker-blog/...ance_part_i.php
http://www.thepokerbank.com/bankroll-management.html
"Chris Ferguson established the following rules for managing his bankroll. These rules should be committed to memory by all poker players.

1. Never buy into a cash game or SnG with more than 5% of your bankroll.

2. Never buy into a MTT with more than 2% of your bankroll.