Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-11-2007, 01:27 AM

Default Night shift jobs for college students?

What are some night shift jobs that college students would be able to get?

I was going to go apply to like ups, but since I've been asking around people say they definitely wouldn't recommend it since it is really a hard labor job, but I'm looking for a job that generally starts around 11pm and lasts until about 5-6 am

any ideas? and/or reflections on working for UPS/fedex
Old 06-11-2007, 02:06 AM

Default Re: Night shift jobs for college students?

Working at a over night gas station/convenience store, easy job and not labor intensive
Old 06-11-2007, 02:12 AM

I've been working for UPS for the past 3 years during the evening. Yes it's labor intensive, but nowhere near as tough as landscaping or concrete work. You work inside for the most part and remain fairly clean. Most hubs will offer a midnight shift that starts around 11pm, but you won't typically work for more than four hours per night. Between the union benefits, and the potential for advancement, it's a very worthwhile job for most college students. Part-time supervisors even receive tuition reimbursement.
Old 06-11-2007, 02:24 AM

One of my biggest regrets in life is blowing off an offer to get into UPS. A friends wife, who is fairly high up at UPS, said that if I loaded trucks part-time she would use her connections to get me into a delivery route. In my infinite wisdom I rejected her offer, electing instead to take my chances in 'less corporate' environments.