Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: The flop is KT7, EP bets, what do I do?
Raise, I'm good at poker 102 68.92%
I spent last night bent over a desk calling out for a man named Bucky to plow me, call 46 31.08%
Voters: 148. You may not vote on this poll

Old 08-07-2007, 10:47 AM

Default College Life Is a Mess -- Take the Poker Route Out? (warning: LONG)

I’m currently a 1st year Law student. Twice. The first year that I went into University I wanted to take a year out. However, at the time I had only just begun playing poker and would play 0.25/0.50 or lower. So, for financial independence, I would have had to work a minimum wage job to allow me to postpone college after finishing secondary school. This in itself would have been ok, if all I had to do was work a few hours a week for “pocket money”. However, I was told in no uncertain terms that I would have to move out if I refused to go instantly into college. Having turned just 18, and never having been all that independent, I felt cornered into going straight into college.

So, when I arrived, I started off well by missing my first week of lectures. I still had plenty of time to get back on track, but I chose not to, and poker at this time served as a convenient distraction, replacing study and attending lectures. I ended the year quite poorly, and all I had to show for it was an improvement in poker. I only made about $20k that year, a lot of which I spent, but I definitely felt a progression that would eventually yield significant results.