Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-11-2007, 11:41 AM

Default Ask Borno about undergrad business internships

I'm a 4th year undergrad student at the Richard Ivey School of Business in Canada and I've done a marketing internship for Canadian Tire a top Canadian retailer and now I'm working at Deloitte Inc. (consulting) as a Business Analyst.
Old 07-11-2007, 12:32 PM

Default Re: Ask Borno about undergrad business internships

Is it possible to get good internships with just an average (3.0 on 4.0 scale) GPA?

I'm going into my 4th year as an undergrad.. is it a good idea to get an internship for the summer after graduation?
Old 07-11-2007, 12:40 PM

A bit more context would help.

Grades are often your foot in the door but if you can swing an interview grades generally go out the window.

If you're looking to do post-grad work then certainly do a summer internship, but unless you can't find a full time job immediately it doesn't make much sense to get an internship after you graduate.

If you get an internship you don't have a secured offer full time and future employers might wonder why you only wanter a 4 month position when you were ripe to start full time.

But. Full time recruiting is usually in September - November and summer intern recruiting is in December - March so it depends on your time lines too.

If its about having experience, FT probably looks better than intern because the connotation of greater responsibility for FT.
Old 07-11-2007, 12:41 PM

Have you heard of that internship where you actually run a house-painting company? You do all the hiring and oversee everything, etc. This maybe only in the States or only in CA, but it sounded pretty amazing.
Old 07-11-2007, 12:53 PM