Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Full Ring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:29 AM
BigSoonerFan BigSoonerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Augusta National
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

My question is: Should you be calling three-bets with 22?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:48 AM
WantToLearn WantToLearn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 397
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

[ QUOTE ]
My question is: Should you be calling three-bets with 22?

[/ QUOTE ]

Same idea here.
Hero is a big dog to make his set, plus in a multiway pot heīs going to win only ~80% of the time when he makes his set.

Someone on 2+2 said that this means that Hero needs to win 11.4 times his investment everytime he actualy wins a showdown with a set. I donīt know the thread anymore.

Long story short, Hero needs to win an average of ~$17 <u>just to break even</u>, assuming the original raiser doesnīt come over the top, which would make it worse.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:49 AM
RapidEvolution RapidEvolution is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grinding 50NL?
Posts: 936
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

[ QUOTE ]
Only read the title; no.

[/ QUOTE ]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:56 AM
Jeff76 Jeff76 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,268
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

[ QUOTE ]
Only read the title; no.

[/ QUOTE ]

Not even here?

Poker Stars
No Limit Holdem Ring game
Blinds: $0.10/$0.25
9 players
Converter

Stack sizes:
Hero: $51.40
UTG+1: $21.85
MP1: $10
MP2: $15.65
MP3: $16.90
CO: $24.40
Button: $25.95
SB: $30.45
BB: $49.35

Pre-flop: (9 players) Hero is UTG with 7[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 7[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]
Hero calls, UTG+1, folds, MP1 (poster) checks, MP2 calls, 2 folds, Button calls, SB folds, SB folds, <font color="#cc0000">BB raises to $1.25</font>, Hero calls, 2 folds, Button calls.

Flop: 7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] T[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] ($4.35, 3 players)
<font color="#cc0000">BB bets $2.25</font>, <font color="#cc0000">Hero raises to $7.5</font>, Button folds, <font color="#cc0000">BB raises all-in $48.1</font>
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:29 PM
BigSoonerFan BigSoonerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Augusta National
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

Responding to Jeff, that's why we have PT/PA. Against a reg, that's a tough decision. Against the usual, it's a call.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:35 PM
Jeff76 Jeff76 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,268
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

PT said "fold."

I think it's a spot where you could fold bottom set at 25NL.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:52 PM
BigSoonerFan BigSoonerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Augusta National
Posts: 1,937
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

[ QUOTE ]
PT said "fold."

I think it's a spot where you could fold bottom set at 25NL.

[/ QUOTE ]

I agree, but not very often.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:56 PM
JSampras1 JSampras1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

Standard rule should just be never fold set-over-set for 100 bb's.

I think you'd have to have massive notes on this guy that he set mines constantly and ONLY plays this way with a set. And even then it would be hard to fold.

I have got all in with bottom set expecting to see another set so many times vs players who are supposed to be tight and i see garbage 2 pair, TPTK etc. I know you're thinking "why would he get his stack in there without a set" but for all you know he's fist pumping because he has 9T.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-01-2007, 01:09 PM
Jeff76 Jeff76 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,268
Default Re: Can I fold bottom set, NL25?

[ QUOTE ]
Standard rule should just be never fold set-over-set for 100 bb's.

[/ QUOTE ]Which was why I posted a hand with 200BBs. [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.