Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-31-2007, 01:50 AM

Default mid pocket pairs mid position - have no idea what to do with them

Trying to learn some tournament stuff, my biggest problem seems to be pocket pairs. For example, blinds still low, medium stacks all around (beginning of tournament) everyone folds to you in midposition. Do you bring in low/medium pairs for a raise?

If there are already callers in, I would guess its okay to call and hope to see a cheap flop. If you are first in though, do you want to raise to narrow the field? If you do raise, what to do if you are reraised? Example, blinds 25-50 starting stack 5000 chips. Mid position you raise to 200, are reraised to 500, do you call and hope to hit your set?

I know this is a very amateur basic question, but I am an amateur player just starting. I have played 2 MTT so far and really enjoy them. I have started reading HOH. Advice would be appreciated.
Old 05-31-2007, 03:10 AM

Default Re: mid pocket pairs mid position - have no idea what to do with them

This question is way too general. Read HOH Vol.1 and it should help you alot with this. Other than that, just post specific hands where you have questions about the play.
Old 05-31-2007, 03:12 AM

I vary the way I play my pairs in these situations preflop. Probably 50/50 limp/raise.
Old 05-31-2007, 03:26 AM

[ QUOTE ]
This question is way too general. Read HOH Vol.1 and it should help you alot with this. Other than that, just post specific hands where you have questions about the play.

[/ QUOTE ]