Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-27-2006, 09:32 PM

Default Some general advice requested and needed.

I started playing hold ‘em about a year ago. I concentrated on limit with some SNGs here and there. I have been playing NL (mostly 1-2) online now for a few months. I am doing ok at NL. I enjoy it much more, anyway.

I have pretty much been buying in for around $80 (40-min 200max). Once I double my money or get around $200 I cash out and get on another table. This has been a conservative approach for me and it seems to be working. Most of the times when I get over that amount I end up losing much of what I have gained.

I often see others building their stacks up quite a bit higher than that and have no problem maintaining it.

I am making money so I see no reason to change this pattern - at least for now.

Probably, I am starting out with my A game and when I get more money, I must be playing less optimal.

Any general thoughts here. Should I be working on my discipline and not take the “lifeline”? Should I continue this method? Do others also use this method?

Thanks for any input.

RJT
Old 03-27-2006, 09:45 PM

Default Re: Some general advice requested and needed.

I always buy in for the max. If you are only buying in for 40BB you are not maximizing your monsters and you also do not have much of a stack to push people around. On your BIG hands when you double up you profit 80 dollars whereas someone buying in for the max profits 200. I don't understand the point for buying in for anything less.
Old 03-27-2006, 09:53 PM

Ok, I'll buy that.

Mostly I have been buying in short to be conservative - a bit gun shy. At any rate what do you think about having a set goal at one table and cashing out, then starting over and building?