Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-06-2007, 06:35 AM

Default Table selection

I am pretty new to 6 max, but it seems as table selection is very important..

How do you choose tables besides players seeing the flop...
I play at .10/.20 so normally that is not the problem..

I have the assumption that its better to be at a table with som loose passive players and a lagtard or 1/2 tags, compared to a table full of loose passive players who have a PFR of 1-3 and a total agression <1..

Is this a right assumption !?
Old 05-06-2007, 07:35 AM

Default Re: Table selection

1. A lot of times I will just start a table. This is the easiest way to avoid having TAGs in your game, as most of them table select by watching the % to the Flop. You may have to play HU in a not so profitable situation for a bit, but it usually evens itself out when the table fills up with Loose Passives.

2. I never sit down to a game with more than 1 TAG at it, and I usually won't stay in a game where more than 1 TAG eventually show up. In order for me to stay I have to have position on the the entire Loose Passive field and they have to be juicy.

3. I will sit in a game with 1 TAG depending on the conditions:
-Will the TAG play back at Aggressive players? If he doesn't this is optimal and I want him on my left. I cut off all his action from other players and my blind steals and isolation raises have a higher chance of succeeding. If he will play back at me I want him as far away from me as possible, usually right across the table.
-Is the TAG the aggressive sort? More of a LAG? Then you definitely want him to your right. Having him on your left puts you in too many weird spots Post-Flop. You also want to be experienced in his play and take as many notes as possible as to his aggressive tendencies.