Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-30-2007, 01:47 PM
tozzy tozzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,182
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

to all of you that say call, please add some sort of range or expand on what you think a donk's (albeit almost no statistical evidence for this assumption) intuition is here.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:39 PM
rand rand is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: i ain\'t got my taco
Posts: 1,021
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

to me, from the player described (an AF would help) the small raise seems to be for value and then he shoves when the diamond hit "to stop another one from coming" to protect his hand not to bluff diamonds
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:43 PM
jfish jfish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: what else is on my mind grapes?
Posts: 8,150
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

agree with melch, hes not wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:51 PM
Renton Renton is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,717
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

[ ] "I don't think Party is as much easier than other sites as people think."
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:25 PM
FionnMac FionnMac is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,922
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

[ QUOTE ]
I did not say fold. Just that when we are behind, I expect it to be those hands mostly.

[/ QUOTE ]

ok, so do you call or fold?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:31 PM
Melchiades Melchiades is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway (London currently)
Posts: 5,040
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

I probably shake my head. Say to myself: "God I [censored] suck so bad, why do I have to be such a [censored] station? I have a draw though..." and press call.

It really does depend on what kind of fish I think villain is though, the preflop numbers don't tell the whole story here. I'm sure I can locate the fold button here sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:32 PM
donkeykong2 donkeykong2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 970
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

from his preflop stats he doesnt seem like an aggro maniac he may have two pair though so a call might not be that horrible equity wise. i doubt you are ahead a lot here, i d definitely fold this.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-30-2007, 04:52 PM
blankoblanco blankoblanco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: fistpumping
Posts: 943
Default Re: Villain shoves for 2x pot but i have top pair so i call

[ QUOTE ]

But i've never ever seen someone show up with a flush or a set here. I was more worried about a panicking 2 pair that doesn't want to bet and be put to a decision if i shove, or a slowplayed overpair. AQ is def possible although other queens are too.

[/ QUOTE ]

just checking: if you didn't have the Qd, you would have folded, right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.