Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-25-2007, 02:44 PM

Default Passive tilt problem

Background:

I have been a poker pro at mid stakes NLHE for about 1.5y now and so far it's been going good for me and I now have a healthy bankroll for the limits I play. I'm 26y old and just decided to settle down in my home town where my cost of living is going to see a significant increase soon after moving out from my parents. If a run anything but terrible my poker incomes should easy covers but lately something strange has happened to me.

Every time I go out to drink I feel a need of spending the most money as possible it's almost like a addiction. It has not hurt my bankroll yet but but I think is related to my tilt problem. Then I'm sober I don't have too expensive habits.

I often make excuses for my spendings to myself it's not eave a a buy in at 3/6 an so on.

Poker:

This and my last month have been the best months so far in my poker carer and I have a bigger roll on the sites then I use to. Before I always use to withdraw to keep my site bankroll around 10K but I have been playing some 5/10 lately so I thought that I might need a bigger site bankroll.

I now dropped back down to 2/4 and 3/6 after a short time at 5/10. I didn't lose that much playing there (5k) but was even for that period with my winnings at 2/4 - 3/6.

The aggressive tilt:

I have not been a big tilter in the past but it has happened especially at Heads up (my most profitable game by far). If I lose 3-4 buy ins or people are constantly quit after double up I start getting more aggressive. I think that's pretty normal and have improved to not go on a "aggressive tilt".

The passive tilt: