Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > High Stakes MTT
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-05-2007, 06:32 AM

Default Full Tilt Turbo Hundo FT: Donk play with 8s UTG?

I'm a cash player who impulsively played the Turbo Hundo. Since I'm not a tournament player, I wasn't really sure of how good/bad this is. I have basic knowledge of tournament ideas such as M, but very little else. There are no significant reads other than that play has settled down quite a bit since the beginning of the final table.

Full Tilt Poker, NL Hold'em Tournament, 2,000/4,000 Blinds, 500 Ante, 8 Players
LeggoPoker Hand History Converter

MP2: 30,120
CO: 53,989
BTN: 24,246
SB: 42,890
BB: 40,903
Hero (UTG): 41,240
UTG+1: 46,390
MP1: 58,222

Pre-Flop: (10,000) 8[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 8[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] dealt to Hero (UTG)
<font color="red">Hero raises to 18,000</font>

With an M of approximately 4, I know I'm playing the 8s. The question was whether or not to shove, or raise. My thought process was that I want to reduce the likelihood of letting my opponents see the turn and river by making a large raise preflop and shoving any flop to give me a better chance of "winning" the race. Obviously, I am calling if someone shoves preflop. With an M of just 4, shoving is probably very very standard here, but is this bad, or is this okay, and why?

Thanks!
Old 11-05-2007, 05:21 PM

Default Re: Full Tilt Turbo Hundo FT: Donk play with 8s UTG?

shove.

if u raise to 18k, a person w/ AK could shove, another guy behind him with AK could call, and u would have to muck...

if u shove...well u can maybe get AQ to call, AK to reshove and ur looking good to more than triple up.
Old 11-05-2007, 05:32 PM

Whats the payout structure? Doesn't seem like great $ev.
Old 11-05-2007, 06:12 PM

just shove
Old 11-05-2007, 06:16 PM