Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-14-2007, 02:36 PM

Default My story (also kind of long)

I saw aba20's post earlier today in this forum and I thought I would do one, although I am kind of on the other end of the sprectrum compared to him.

I have just started posting on the forum recently and I am ready to start my poker career over. A little about me: I started playing on Party in 2005 after reading several poker books and studying the game. I started playing $1/2 limit hold’em with just a $100 bankroll. I know, not proper BR management, but I didn’t want to play for less money that $1/2. Anyway, I started off doing pretty well, and avoided any big downswings. I started moving up limits. I was probably always underolled, but I have a high risk tolerance, and if I have to reload, then so be it. So I’m playing $5/10 LHE with about a $2,000 roll after about a year on a Party bad beat table and BAM! I’m involved in this hand. Sorry no converter, but you’ll get the gist.

I’m in the small blind with Js 9s, everyone limps, I call, BB checks
Flop 8s 10s Qs I flopped a straight flush, I of course slow play it with 5 or 6 in the hand
The flop checks around and the Turn brings 8c
I bet, everyone folds to button, who raises, I reraise, and the button calls
River 8d, I bet, button raises, I reraise, he caps.

Results
Villian Ks 8h (shows four of a king eights)
Hero Js 9s (shows straight flush)

All of a sudden a screen pops up saying I was won a piece of the bad beat jackpot (~$29,000 was my share)