Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Mid-High Stakes Shorthanded

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2007, 04:32 AM
geormiet geormiet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,237
Default Wow, if you think I\'m bad now, I really used to suck

I just dug up my old poker blog from 2004. I was playing 3/6 on party and had about a $2k bankroll which I started from $500 (how the HELL I won $1500 at 3/6 with no rakeback is beyond me...maybe a testament to how golden the golden age of online poker really was)

Here are some choice excerpts:

"I have JTs on the button. UTG limps, I call, BB checks. Flop is T97 2 suited. UTG bets out, I raise, BB folds, UTG reraises. Now I decide to cap here, which I think is a good play. It will give me good information for the turn. So I cap, and the turn is the Q. UTG bets out again - there's my information - I should definitely fold here. UTG is not on a draw - I now have a gutshot, but I'm not getting the pot odds to call. However, I'm not playing well, and I call the turn and river bet, losing $12 more than I should. He had KT."

"I'm on the button with QTo. Several limpers, so I call, and the flop comes QQK, two diamonds. Checked to me, I bet, 2 callers. Turn is a blank. Checked to me, I bet, 1 caller. River is a diamond, checked to me. Why should I bet here? I guess I thought he could have a K. I bet, he raises. Ok, so he probably has the flush. But what if he's making a move? I call, he has the flush. There's another $12 I should not have lost - I think a check on the river here would definitely have been correct - what could he have had other than a diamond draw?"


"I've got Kh Qh in middle position, and there is one limper. I limp, and 4 people see the flop of KK3 rainbow. I bet out, the guy on my left raises, and everyone folds. His raise tells me he probably doesn't have a K. I only call. I don't want to drive him out too early, let him stay the aggressor. Turn is a J, I check, he bets, and I raise. I assume that if he doesn't have the K he will fold here, but he calls. I wonder what he has - now i'm thinking K with a worse kicker, or maybe he picked up a straigtht draw. The river is a 9. I bet, he calls. He shows 99! Now what I'm wondering, why the hell didn't he raise the river? I mean, this donkey catches his miracle card, and then he doesn't bet it! Well, saved me $6 I suppose. I wonder if I had reraised the flop, then bet out the turn, if he would have folded? Oh well, I actually really liked my play here."

"Anyway I finally hit a streak. It started after I made a big laydown with AA on the flop that I was really happy about. The flop was JT7 two suited. I was in early position, and bet out. There was a raise, a caller, and a reraise, and I decided I was done. I thought JT, but turned out he had 89 for the straight."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2007, 04:42 AM
Flintoff Flintoff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,702
Default Re: Wow, if you think I\'m bad now, I really used to suck

How do you have a gutshot in hand 1?

Edit: Im on your page now after I read the 2nd hand! :P
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2007, 10:01 AM
mntbikr15 mntbikr15 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: Wow, if you think I\'m bad now, I really used to suck

This made my morning,
thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.