Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-21-2006, 05:13 AM

Default Biggest Downswing of my Career - Advice Needed

Hi All,

So where do I start...I've been playing Poker for a few years but just started taking it seriously last January. I started with the cent limits and built my roll using the standard guidelines and have now reached a point where I am very much overrolled for 3-6. I "took a shot" at 5-10 a month ago but dropped down after a mini losing streak and went back to my comfort zone at 3-6.

But in this past month at 3-6 I have been running horribly (or so I hope). Over 25,000 hands I have been averaging -.5BB/100hands. I always see the downswing posts on 2p2 and I have been critiquing my game but I really dont see many flaws. I compare my stats to the compiled numbers "CallMeIshmael" posted a while back to fill a few leaks but overall my numbers are close to what a "winning player's" are supposed to be.

The only leaks I have found are that I don't fold to enough river bets - 2p2 mean is 45%, mine is 32%. And I need to get my VPIP in the SB down 5%. But are these major faults? I mean I try not to fold winners on the river in big pots but maybe I need to listen to my gut a little more when I know I'm beat.

So...is a 25,000 hand losing streak something for me to get worried about my game over or is this variance, has this happened to others??

thanks guys.
Old 11-21-2006, 05:49 AM

Default Re: Biggest Downswing of my Career - Advice Needed

First the good news, if my arithmatic is right, you are on a 125 big bet downswing. Yeah, that happens. It sucks when it does, but it still happens.

Now lets take a little deeper look. Ok, lets test the assumption that you are a 1.5 bb/100 player at this limit.