Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics

Old 11-30-2007, 03:27 AM

Default Require health insurance assistance

Not sure what to do. Been without insurance for a while now, but i know I need to get it eventually. One potential problem is I have chronic pre-existing condition. One thats not immediately dangerous, but will definitely require medical attention at some point. I play poker for a living, and make enough money where getting a real job just for insurance doesn't make much sense. I also don't want a real job, I love what i do.

Anybody in the health insurance field, or been in this situation before? I feel totally lose and am pretty scared. Please help.
Old 11-30-2007, 07:51 AM

Default Re: Require health insurance assistance

Not sure what your dilemma is. Just apply for insurance. You didn't state your age or what you pre-existing condition is, but I don't see what the problem is. You don't need a "job" to get insurance, you just need to pay the premiums. Depending on your health and whether the state you live in allows unrestricted medical underwriting will determine how high your premiums will be, if your existing condition will be covered, and how soon you can get covered. Shouldn’t take more than a few weeks…
Old 11-30-2007, 12:18 PM

The sooner you apply, the better. It depends on the state that you live in, but in general, for cases of pre-existing conditions, if you have had coverage under the company for x years without an issue with the condition, they cannot deny your claim due to pre-existing condition.

Someone chime in and correct me if I am wrong, but I believe in my state it is 3 years. This applies if you do not disclose the condition at the time of application. If you do disclose, they have the right to completely remove claims that relate to your condition from your coverage.