Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha High
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-31-2007, 12:38 AM

Default Move up? Stay put?

Are these numbers good enough to justify moving up? I have been playing for about 2 1/2 months and don't consider myself as skilled as a lot of posters here. I play for fun and a little side money. With that being said, I'd like to get some advice about when/if it's time to move up. It could be quite possible that these stats don't indicate enough info to tell?
[image]http://[/image]
Old 10-31-2007, 01:20 AM

Default Re: Move up? Stay put?

yes move up.
Old 10-31-2007, 01:28 AM

Move up, take a shot. If you run bad at 2/4 just grind out some more 1/2, rinse and repeat.
Old 10-31-2007, 01:35 AM

Sc000t, that's pretty much what I figured the "right" answer would be. What amount of my online roll should I take a shot with? 10% 25%? I have played a few hundred hands at 2/4 and 3/6. It seems that I gete very "self concious" about my play when I move up. Not that the $ is an issue, but I think I get psyched out. OMG, i think I have issues, lol.
Old 10-31-2007, 01:56 AM

[ QUOTE ]
Sc000t, that's pretty much what I figured the "right" answer would be. What amount of my online roll should I take a shot with? 10% 25%? I have played a few hundred hands at 2/4 and 3/6. It seems that I gete very "self concious" about my play when I move up. Not that the $ is an issue, but I think I get psyched out. OMG, i think I have issues, lol.

[/ QUOTE ]

playing 2-4 and 3-6 on a 10k bankroll is fairly aggressive, especially considering you don't have a good handle on your expectation in those games, but it's not completely out of line.
Old 10-31-2007, 02:16 AM

Maybe just mix one 2/4 table into your usual 1/2 games until you win 5 or 6k more and can play full time there. Then when you have the roll you will feel alright stepping up since you have logged some hands at that level.