Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Two Plus Two > MOD DISCUSSION

Old 09-27-2007, 11:50 PM

Default Spechel EDD nudes >1000

Chuck traced the performance issues we were having earlier to that thread. That's also why you're now seeing >1000.
Old 09-28-2007, 12:05 AM

Default Re: Spechel EDD nudes >1000

Sorry but that is hilarious. Oddly enough he's carrying on in an ATF thread about the >1000 thing so maybe that is why.
Old 09-28-2007, 12:09 AM

Yeah, the only thing I'm amused by is that AtF thread.

2+2 was unusable for hours because of this. The >1000 thing was implemented by Chuck to discourage future problems.
Old 09-28-2007, 12:13 AM

Ryan,

Honestly, I thought this whole thing was some kind of software glitch, so it's kind of funny to find out it is deliberate. Most active threads eclipse 1000 views pretty easily it seems, but I am not technical enough to understand why a bunch of people viewing a particular thread would crash the site as a whole.

">1000" seems about as useless as that column itself. If there is a way to just do away with it I wish you would. Who cares how many views a thread has? Just seems weird to me.
Old 09-28-2007, 12:20 AM

For it to be that bad I'm guessing someone was running a script to up the count. Chuck picked that thread out of the log and blocked the IP that was primarily responsible.

But yeah, we may as well get rid of that info if it stays capped at 1000. We'll see what happens.
Old 09-28-2007, 12:32 AM

Ryan,

"someone was running a script to up the count."

I wish that "someone" was outed and banned, that is ridiculous. They probably wouldn't have done it had they known it would semi-crash 2+2 for several of its busiest hours but that's still something that seems borderline DOS. Now I wonder if EDD's investment in this lame argument is because he knew about that. Pretty likely actually, in which case he should be banned.
Old 09-28-2007, 12:41 AM

and the person responsible wasn't Edd?