Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-06-2007, 08:11 AM

Default Small Stakes Hold\'em (Skalnsky, Miller & co)

Hi all

I'm a long time player and started playing online a little while ago. So to get the feeling for online Poker I thought I'd start with small stake tables until I know my way out and then play my usual game at 10/20.

After a short while I realized that small stakes table are just horrible to play and that I need to adapt my game to the new situation. I went and buy the book of Sklansky about how to play small stakes... after reading the book carefully and trying to follow most of his strategies I must say that I'd better have lost my money at a table than for the book. My new experiences would have been more valuable.

What Sklansky suggests is actually to play loose against loose players! I've been playing for many years now and my tracks show that I'm pretty tight, solid and aggresive but since this strategy doesn't seem to work very well at small stakes online tables, I thought being open minded and reading about new ways would pay out. I know now that playing my usual way doesn't pay out as much as I'm used to, but I also know that the way they explain you to play doesn't pay out at all but makes you even loosing...

What are your experiences or opinions re this book?

Cheers Don
Old 09-06-2007, 08:58 AM

Default Re: Small Stakes Hold\'em (Skalnsky, Miller & co)

WOW! Are you sure you've been reading SSHE? Sklansky and Miller advocate a tight but aggressive policy throughout the book, not a loose one.

I'm pretty new to limit HE but have found the book to be a revelation - giving me some new ways of thinking about how to play on every street, and ways to push every edge in terms of playing weaker players, pot odds/implied odds and pot equity.